Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (September 2020)

Marine Design Annual

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of September 2020 Maritime Reporter Magazine

MARITIME

Editorial

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

T +1 212 477 6700; F +1 212 254 6271

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

T +1 561 732 4368; F +1 561 732 6984

Publisher John C. O’Malley @ShipNews jomalley@marinelink.com

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com that new problems will arise, new solutions

Everything you own and operate, every-

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard thing you build, everything we cover, will be offered.

howard@marinelink.com starts ? rst with an idea. The Marine Design Flip the page to 18 and our interview

Editorial Contributors edition is a personal favorite, as I enjoy with Søren Andersen, CEO, StormGeo.

Tom Mulligan - UK

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil picking the brains of technologists and in- Andersen comes at the decarbonization

William Stoichevski - Scandinavia novators for insight and background on how issue from a different angle, as StormGeo

Production

Irina Vasilets they go about the business of taking an idea is a leader in weather routing, with more vasilets@marinelink.com from the back of a napkin to the world’s than 65,000 voyages routed via its system

Nicole Ventimiglia waterways. last year alone. Weather routing offers real, nicole@marinelink.com

Rik van Hemmen, president of Martin quanti? able ef? ciencies in navigation, with

Corporate Staff

Mark O’Malley, Marketing Manager & Ottaway, has been a regular contributor Andersen contending a potential savings

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting to our pages, providing a steady stream of of 3 to 10% with the requisite environ-

Information Technology

Vladimir Bibik thought-provoking articles from his unique mental bene? ts, too. Andersen comes with

Subscriptions perspective. This month the focus of his vast experience from big shipping, but he

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com design feature starting on page 22 discusses contends the StormGeo value proposition

Sales the history behind the adoption of the light lies in its ability to deliver real economies

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com bulb on ships at sea. While at a glance, with in consumption and emissions to small and

Terry Breese the two-page spread of Thomas Edison and medium sized companies.

breese@marinelink.com; +1 561 732 1185 some historic looking bulbs, it may appear Finally, our cover story this month is an

John Cagni cagni@marinelink.com; +1 631-472-2715 a simple historical recall. But the core of interview with Chor How Jat, Managing

Frank Covella the feature is on the essence of innovation Director, Conversions and Repairs, Kep- covella@marinelink.com; +1 561 732 1659 and effectively navigating the naysayers, pel O&M in Singapore. Keppel O&M is

Mike Kozlowski whether they be from the regulatory, ? nance working on a conversion project for Golar kozlowski@marinelink.com; +1 561 733 2477 or manufacturing. of an LNG carrier to an FLNG, the second

Today’s maritime industry certainly has such conversion ever, which offers obvious

International Sales

Scandinavia & Germany its fair share of big problems to discuss, dis- cost advantages. This project is unique as

Roland Persson

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 cover and solve, with decarbonization and the companies engaged the services of an

Ystad, Sweden roland@orn.nu; +46 411-184 00 all that it entails leading the charge. environmental consultant to measuyre the

Simon Tarrant of Lubrizol discusses Greenhouse Gas emission savings for the

Germany, Austria & Switzerland

Tony Stein large marine engine lubrication in our world’s ? rst LNG to FLNG conversion – the tony.r.stein@btinternet.com +44 1892 512777

Path to Zero interview starting on page 16. Hilli Episeyo – versus newbuild, and the

United Kingdom

Perhaps more accurately he discusses some results are eye-opening. Read more starting

Paul Barrett

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden of the engine problems ship owners have on page 34.

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK ieaco@aol.com; +44 7778 357722 experienced in the switch to VLSFOs, and some potential solutions premised on more

Classi? ed Sales +1 212 477 6700 than four years of study by Lubrizol. As the maritime industry collectively trials a long list of alternative fuels, the only certainty is

Founder:

Gregory R. Trauthwein

John J. O’Malley [1905 - 1980]

Editor & Associate Publisher

Charles P. O’Malley [1928 - 2000]

John E. O’Malley [1930 - 2019] trauthwein@marinelink.com 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • September 2020

MR #9 (1-17).indd 6 9/9/2020 1:37:00 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.