Page 4: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (December 2013)

Great Ships of 2013

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of December 2013 Maritime Reporter Magazine

4 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News ? DECEMBER 2013 contents12PUBLISHERSJohn E. O?MalleyJohn C. O?Malley  jomalley@marinelink.comAssociate Publisher & EditorGregory R Trauthwein  trauthwein@marinelink.com Contributing Editors Dennis L. Bryant Edward Lundquist Correspondents Joseph Fonseca, India Greg Knowler, China Claudio Pashoa, Brazil Peter Pospiech, Germany Editorial Consultant James R. McCaul President, International Maritime Assoc. Web Editor Eric Haun  haun@marinelink.comPRODUCTION Production Manager Irina Tabakina  tabakina@marinelink.comCORPORATE STAFF Manager, Accounting Esther Rothenberger  rothenberger@marinelink.com Manager, Public Relations Mark O?Malley  momalley@marinelink.com Manager, Marketing Jocelyn Redfern  jredfern@marinelink.com Manager, Information Vladimir Bibik  bibik@marinelink.com Technology Services CIRCULATION Circulation Manager Kathleen Hickey  mrcirc@marinelink.com SALESVice President of Sales & MarketingRob Howard  howard@marinelink.comNational Sales Manager Terry Breese  breese@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-1185; Fax: (561) 732-8414 Sales Representatives Lucia Annunziata  annunziata@marinelink.com - Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 Frank Covella  covella@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-1659; Fax: (561) 732-8063 Mitch Engel  engel@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 732-0312; Fax: (561) 732-8063 Mike Kozlowski  kozlowski@marinelink.com - Tel: (561) 733-2477; Fax: (561) 732-9670 Dawn Trauthwein  dtrauthwein@marinelink.com - Tel: (631) 472-2715; Fax: (631) 868-3575 Jean Vertucci  vertucci@marinelink.com - Tel: (212) 477-6700; Fax: (212) 254-6271 Sales Administration Rhoda Morgan  morgan@marinelink.com & Of ce Manager Sales & Event Coordinator Michelle Howard  mhoward@marinelink.com Classi ed Sales Tel: (212) 477-6700 Scandinavia Roland Persson  roland@orn.nu Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24 Ystad, Sweden Tel: +46 411-184 00 ; Fax: +46 411 105 31 Western Europe Uwe Riemeyer  riemeyer@intermediapartners.de Tel: +49 202 27169 0 ; Fax: +49 202 27169 20 United Kingdom Paul Barrett  ieaco@aol.com Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK Tel: +44 1268 711560 M: +44 7778 357722 ; Fax: +44 1268 711567 Japan Katsuhiro Ishii  amskatsu@dream.com Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike, Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan Tel: +81 3 5691 3335 ; Fax: +81 3 5691 3336 Korea Jo, Young Sang  biscim.co.kr Business Communications Inc., Rm 1232, Gwanghwamoon Of cia Bldg., 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu, Seoul, Korea 110-999 Tel: +82 2 739 7840 ; Fax: +82 2 732 3662 www.marinelink.com MemberNEW YORK118 E. 25th St., New York, NY 10010 Tel: (212) 477-6700  Fax: (212) 254-6271 e-mail: mren@marinelink.comWeb: www.marinelink.com FLORIDA 215 NW 3rd St., Boynton Beach, FL 33435Tel: (561) 732-4368; Fax: (561) 732-6984 ONE ON ONE 16 TORE MORTEN OLSEN Astrium Services survey of seafarer cr ew communication usage yield insightful information.. By Joseph KeefeGOVERNMENT UPDATE 16 MARINE CYBERSECURITYThere is a gr owing threat to marine safety, security and environmen- tal protection from the over-reliance on electronics to accomplish operational tasks. By Dennis BryantLEGAL BEAT 18 NEW YEAR, NEW RULESExport r eform brings new compliance obligations to the shipbuild-ing suppy chain.By Barbara Linney, Abigail Cotterill & Kevin Miller PORT SECURITY 20 SEQUESTRATION & BUDGET WOES Impact of the Sequester and budget showdowns on ports and por t security. By Joan Bondareff 22 THE LOGISTICS CONUNDRUM Any port has logistics issues. BMT Isis is gear ed to deliver optimum results. By Bob Hockham24 LIGHT IT UP LED Lighting has proved its value in r educing costs and enhancing safety at the St. James Stevedoring bulk handling operations on the lower Mississippi.By Joey Cehan26 INDIA POISED FOR GROWTH With 4,700 miles of coastline, 12 major por ts and 187 minor ports, India takes an increasingly important role as a maritime hub. By Joseph FonsecaPROPULSION 30 OUT OF THE PAST, ENGINE OF THE FUTURE Wärtsilä conducted full scale testing on gas of its low-speed 2-stroke dual-fuel engine and is introducing a full range of engines based on its low pressure technology. By Peter Pospiech OFFSHORE 50 FLOATING PRODUCTION The torrid market for  oating production and storage units contin- ues, with Brazil still leading the way. By Jim McCaul, IMA1630ALSO IN THIS EDITION6 EDITORIAL51 2014 EDITORIAL CALENDAR52 PEOPLE & COMPANY NEWS 56 PRODUCTS58 BUYER?S GUIDE 59 CLASSIFIEDS 64 ADVERTISER?S INDEX MR #12 (1-9).indd 4MR #12 (1-9).indd 412/10/2013 12:48:04 PM12/10/2013 12:48:04 PM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.